New pencil community on Livejournal

April 2, 2007

I’ve just started a community called Pencil Crazy over on Livejournal. If there are any pencil enthusiasts or collectors that still hang out on LJ, please join and post a picture or two of your collection.

Ever since joining the American Pencil Collectors Society (thanks to Angela for that geekerific Valentine’s Day gift I’d been wanting!) I’m beginning to wonder if most pencil collectors are in the 55+ age range, since that seems to be the target audience for the APSC publication. I know there must be some young professionals out there who completely geek out over an amazing instrument like the Rotring 600 or the Ohto Super Promecha just like I do, but they’re probably all in the pencil collector closet.

No one should be ashamed – office supply fetishes are so in.

6 Responses to “New pencil community on Livejournal”


  1. Just wanted to let you know that a fellow young lifehacker (23) fights with pencil lust as well. I’ve been a big fan of pencilrevolution, which has unfortunatly dried up, and I was on pencilthings.com’s pencil of the month club.

    BTW, I have enjoyed your blog here, keep it up!

  2. aebaxter Says:

    @Jason Thanks for the comment! I’ve also enjoyed Pencil Things’ Pencil of the Month Club for a whole year now. That was the coolest surprise every month. Thanks for reading.

  3. speedmaster Says:

    I’ll check it out, thanks.

  4. Ilka Says:

    Hi from Puerto Rico! I’m a Spanish teacher and I’m interest exchange pencils. Actually I exchange with a good friend from Perú. Plaese feel free in contact me ilka_vera@yahoo.com.

  5. Tatiana Says:

    Hello, I am a pencil collector living in Salt Lake City, UT. I have more than 3000 from many parts of the world. I am ready to trade with people who likes pencils. I like unsharpened and never used pencils. If you want to trade, please contact me: mtat75@hotmail.com. Thank you.


Leave a Reply

