The best mechanical pencils

November 3, 2006

There’s an excellent Ask MetaFilter question today regarding the best of the best when it comes to mechanical pencils. The dozens of answers contain some great pencil links and a whole list of new pencils to try.

I can’t be the only MeFite who with a mechanical pencil fetish, help me find the ultimate mechanical pencil.

I have just recently discovered the joy of writing with an excellent mechanical pencil. After years of your basic cheapy 10-pack affairs, I finally bought a Pentel Sharp, and it’s a wonderful thing. The thing feeds super smoothly, feels solid as a tank and fits my hand quite well.

There’s just one problem: the eraser. It has this metal sleeve that fits around the eraser. The eraser inevitably slides around inside the sleeve, which means I have to adjust it back out every time I erase something. On this latest pack of erasers, the sleeve actually fits into the barrel for some reason, which causes all kinds of problems with the eraser getting stuck inside the pen, meaning I have to get something sharp and jab it out!

So help me, hive-mind, what have been the best mechanical pencils you’ve used?

Check out all the cool answers.

3 Responses to “The best mechanical pencils”


  1. […] The Quest for the Best in Mechanical Pencils at MetaFilter – lots of suggestions for good pencils. Found via Slow Burn Productions. […]

  2. Brandy Says:

    The Lamy Scribble mechanical pencil seems to get good reviews, although I have yet to try it (buying it tonight).

  3. Johnie Says:

    I can already tell that’s gonna be super helulpf.


Leave a Reply

