Pencils, pens, Moleskine, Backpack and Blackberry

September 6, 2006

It’s the beginning of the month, and we all know what that means – another exciting package in the mail from the good folks at Pencil Things. This month I received a California Republic Golden Bear 2B, a Mongol Trio, and a rare Faber-Castell Autograph HB, no longer in production. I must admit that I sharpened and tested the Autograph before reading the description, and I was just marveling at how inky and smooth it was when I realized I’d just sharpened away a collector’s item. Oh well! It was fun to use. I also received a special addition to my pack of pencils this month – a 5X5 orange Rhodia pad emblazoned with pencilthings.com. It was pretty cool since I’d just been considering picking up a Rhodia pad the other day. I like the pad, but I’m still a Moleskine loyalist all the way.

I was also able to make a trip down to Paradise Pen last weekend to pick up a yellow Lamy Safari rollerball, and I noticed a flyer for the Austin Fountain Pen Society. I didn’t even know such a thing existed! Apparently they coordinate meetings and other events on Fountain Pen Network. I hope to be able to make the meeting on September 10th.

In other news, Backpack has added a calendar feature, something I had almost given up hope of seeing from 37signals. Combined with notes, to do’s, images, shared writeboards, SMS reminders, and killer mobile access on my Blackberry, I can run nearly my entire life with my Blackberry + Moleskine + pen + pencil. Backpack remains the best $5 per month that I spend.

2 Responses to “Pencils, pens, Moleskine, Backpack and Blackberry”

  1. Kenji Says:

    I am a software engineer. I always need to thrash out the tasks in my work.

    I made new way by mixing GTD and managing the tasks with RHODIA.

    I call it “GTD + R”.

    It is very simple for the concept. I call it “Card game for push through the work” as metaphor.

    Anybody wants the tasks or work to get things done sooner. To get things done, you have to capture it. So I call it the GAME to clean up the tasks.

    I think that there are a lot of people who wants to do their works as games.
    You prepare FIELD because it is the GAME. You can play it and clean up the tasks on the field.
    You prepare POCKET. It makes easy to carry and to clean up the tasks anywhere.

    Let’s try “GTD + R”!

    http://gtd-r.blogspot.com/

  2. Briana Says:

    I have pencils – loads of pencils that I’ve been throwing in a box for years. I don’t remember how I got it, but I found a Faber Castell Autograph 2-881 2B. It looked cool – big lead, so I sharpened it and began using it. Wow! Very nice indeed. Just now i decided to look into ordering more and that is where I read here that they are no longer in production. I have quickly put that wonderful little pencil away to use no more, but to just have and behold. ;)


Leave a Reply

